My review of PADLET

 Padlet ( https://padlet.com/ ) is basically an online bulletin board where you can post a variety of media and also collaborate with others easily. It is a free website designed for brainstorming, collaborative work and organization.

  • Gathering information
I found the website Padlet through the DiRT Directoryhttp://dirtdirectory.org/resources/padlet ). I found Padlet’s website is very easy to navigate and really neat looking. It is also very simple to create a new account online. Mine was set up in a matter of seconds with no body asking if I was a robot and testing me with ridiculous series of characters. I really liked the website except for one thing – there isn’t an app! I found this strange because for me, ideas never come when I’m sitting in front of a laptop with Padlet opened.
While using the website I found that they had made it very easy to look through your posted files, “walls”, and links that you’e posted. It is also very clear to see who you’ve collaborated with on projects as well as inviting them with just a click of a mouse. I also found that Padlet allows you to upload many different types of media very simply.
There are many research articles and reviews on Padlet. On reading a few i have found that Padlet is mainly used for educational purposes by teachers in order to interact with their students on group work or assignments. There are many pages telling us of “in classroom tips” for Padlet which state using it as a way to Manage your audience.
I think that this website could be very useful for Digital humanities students when working on projects, either individually or in groups. I found that it will be a useful tool when researching topics as you can save all your information in one place regardless of whether it is a video, picture sound file or simply text. Researching is made easy with Padlet because everything is on a taught board in front of you.

  • Maturity/stability of the tool
I didn’t find any Road map or timeline for Padlet but I think it began as Wallwisher – a way i which you can write on walls of your friends, very like Facebook’s idea now in use.
The website seems to be very stable and hopefully it will last. There are many FAQ’s online and the crew at Padlet are very attentive if you have any queries or problems. They also listen to any ideas you may have for updated and expanding the website. You simply tweet them at @padlet. They also ask for user’s opinions and ideas online.

  • Sustainability of the tool
It is not explicitly stated how long Padlet has been around for but from a little digging, I believe the idea came around approximately 5 years ago.
There seems to be a strong and positive online community behind it. They have over 5,000 followers on twitter which is quickly expanding. Padlet junction was also designed to tackle any problems you may encounter with Padlet ( http://jn.padlet.com/ )
One thing I found a bit strange is that it is not open source so people cannot contribute code to go towards helping the site.
It is very easy to export your walls in many different forms. You are able to export files through many means such as PDF, Excel, Image, CSV and  through a variety of social media sites.

  • Sustainability of your research
I understand HOW TO use the tool but I’m not too sure I understand how the tool actually WORKs. As in I’m not 100% sure of the mechanics behind the website. This is difficult as the website isn’t open source.
Padlet should allow any research results to be verifiable and reproducible especially when it is so easy to export and share our posts
#UCCbadhit
Leave a Reply

